//
you're reading...
featured, Presentations 2011

10 Things I Wish Someone Had Explained Before My First Job: Joel Wagner

Bio:
My name is Joel (contact me). I began teaching band in 2002. Though I had a lot of information, my classes were out of control. I was tired, frustrated, disrespected by students, lonely, and on the brink of quitting. I had had enough. I resigned from my school district right before spring break of my second year and made it my personal mission to learn to be a great teacher. So You Want To Teach? is the ongoing story of my quest for educational excellence.

10 Things I Wish Someone Had Explained Before My First Job

Date & Times: 1:30pm-2pm PST, New York 4:30pm EST, Denver 2:30pm MST, 9:30pm GMT, Paris 10:30pm CET, Perth 5:30am Sun., Sydney 8:30am Sun., Tokyo 6:30am Sun. Click here for more time zones!

If you missed the presentation, click here to see the archive.

Presenter’s Website: SoYouWantToTeach.com

Twitter:@sywtt

Interview about the upcoming session:

What should we expect from your presentation?

  1. Some simple ideas of areas for development for prospective and new teachers
  2. Concepts that, while often briefly mentioned in college educator preparation programs, are frequently under-emphasized in regard to teacher development
  3. Practical suggestions as to how to integrate these skills into your teaching life and beyond

Why is this important for new teachers?

  1. Since many new teachers drop out of the business within the first five years, teachers who merely endure their days at work rather than prosper in their teaching abilities are much more prone toward longevity in their chosen career path. Teachers of all experience levels are encouraged to participate in the discussion or simply observe.

Please share what inspired this presentation!

I was once a terrible first year teacher. I knew a whole lot of information about band and was organized, but I didn’t know the first thing about relating to the kinds of students that filled the majority of my classes. This information would have been helpful my first couple of years!

http://www.soyouwanttoteach.com/10-things-i-wish-i-knew-as-a-first-year-teacher/

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Thank You!

Disclaimer: The Reform Symposium Conference could not take place without its sponsors, presenters, and organizers. The views and opinions expressed are purely those of the presenters/sponsors/organizers. The Reform Symposium does not endorse any product or view.

