//
you're reading...
featured, Keynotes, Presentations 2011, rscon2 NT Keynotes

Opening Keynote: Dr. Alec Couros

ProfileDr. Alec Couros, is an Associate Professor of educational technology and media at the Faculty of Education, University of Regina. He has given hundreds of workshops and presentations, nationally and internationally, on topics such as openness in education, networked learning, social media in education, digital citizenship, and critical media literacy. His graduate and undergraduate courses help current and future educators understand how to use and take advantage of the educational potential offered by the tools of connectivity.

Keynote: Why Networked Learning Matters

Description:
There has been a lot of hype in the last few years about this ‘social media’ phenomenon – blogs, wikis, Twitter, and the like. Techno-utopianists tell us that these new democratizing tools will change everything we know about education and learning. Many critics take an opposing narrative and see many of these tools as simply glitzier forms of old practice. So what should educators believe? This interactive presentation is meant to deconstruct some of the big questions regarding technology and its use in teaching & learning. What practices are here to stay? What will disappear? What will be different about schools in the years ahead? And, what do we need to do as teachers, educators, and parents to create the best learning environments for our children?

Date & Times: 11am-12pm PST, New York 2pm EST, Denver 12pm MST, 7pm GMT, Paris 8pm CET, Perth 3am Sun., Sydney 6am Sun., Tokyo 4am Sun. Check your time zone here!

If you missed the presentation, click here to see the archive.

Website: Open Thinking

Twitter: @courosa

Interview with Dr. Alec Couros about his upcoming Keynote:
http://wetoku.com/player/vod/11964

Advertisements

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Opening Keynote: Dr. Alec Couros

  1. Really love Alec’s style and enthusiasm! Thanks so much for being our Opening Keynote!

    Posted by Lisa Dabbs | January 5, 2011, 10:40 pm
  2. Great Keynote, Alec! It was so inspiring!!!!

    Posted by Vicky Saumell | January 8, 2011, 3:15 pm
  3. Loved the keynote….plan to share it with my PLN.

    Posted by Bernie | January 8, 2011, 7:24 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Powerful Learning Practice, LLC » Blog Archive » What We’re Up To - February 8, 2011

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Thank You!

Disclaimer: The Reform Symposium Conference could not take place without its sponsors, presenters, and organizers. The views and opinions expressed are purely those of the presenters/sponsors/organizers. The Reform Symposium does not endorse any product or view.

%d bloggers like this: