//
you're reading...
Presenters

Mike Hogan

Mike Hogan is a Business English teacher, teacher trainer and materials author based inHamburg, Germany. He is currently working in business development at LTC (Language Training Center) www.ltc-online.de He is mainly involved in developing and implementing new courses & concepts, giving intensive courses & 1-1 coaching, and teacher training.

He believes in a focused approach to education, teaching the learners what they need, when they need it, in a way in which they will best respond to. For learners who have not grown up in the digital age or a digital environment, this may mean using less technology or using it sparingly as a means of delivery or its use in acquisition. However, as more and more digital natives are entering the world of work we also need to think of their needs, how they learn, and how we, as educators, can embrace and make the most of technological advances they can work with with relative familiarity and ease.

He believes that reform needs to happen both in schools and in the adult education field so that, at the end of the day, the best results can be achieved using a principled eclectic approach. To this end, he has recently undergone his own reformation and can now be connected with on twitter @irishmikeh

He has written for the publishers Cornelsen and Macmillan and also for Business Spotlight, a Business English magazine.

Presentation: Immigrants Vs Natives

Description: This talk will look at the characteristics of digital immigrants and natives and how they teach and learn respectively. Following this I’ll discuss some of the key problems and challenges involved in addressing the needs of digital natives and outline some ways to deal with these issues.

Date & Times: Sat. July 31st 2:00am-2:30am LA/ 5:00pm NYC/ 10:00am, London/ 11:00am, Paris/ 7:00pm, Sydney/ 6:00pm, Tokyo
Click here for more time zones!

If you missed the presentation, click here to see the archive: View the Elluminate Live! recording

Presenter’s Website: Language Training Center

Twitter: @irishmikeh

Advertisements

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Thank You!

Disclaimer: The Reform Symposium Conference could not take place without its sponsors, presenters, and organizers. The views and opinions expressed are purely those of the presenters/sponsors/organizers. The Reform Symposium does not endorse any product or view.

%d bloggers like this: