//
you're reading...
Keynotes

Keynote: Jo Hart

Originally from the UK now living in rural Western Australia. Jo has a background in science, equine studies (including teaching horse riding) and in the the transferable/ employability skills. Currently a lecturer in Literacy and Numeracy (with some IT) in the public Vocational Education and Training sector (TAFE). Her students are very varied: culturally & linguistically diverse mature age adults; people with intellectual disabilities; “Youth at (educational) Risk”. When Jo teaches face to face classes she has five literacy levels, this combined with the human diversity of her learners makes e-solutions almost essential for Jo in the classroom. Currently (2010) Jo is teaching solely online across three/four literacy levels with regional/remote students. This is an innovative programme as it is both the first completely online programme in her college, and (we think probably) the first of its kind with these learner target groups. Jo uses Virtual Classroom (Elluminate) a lot, the WebCT CE6 Learning Management System and anything else “e-” that might help to provide a blend that aims to give this learner cohort enough support and flexibility to keep them on track. She also has online regional/remote students. Jo loves to learn herself and has a passion for opening these same doors for learners. She enjoys exploring “e-stuff” immensely and sees this as an essential addition to her “toolbox” for engaging and motivating learners.

Jo has developed, gained funding for and managed/facilitated a number projects in e-learning contexts since moving to WA and in the course of these, her current lecturing role, and her PLN have facilitated and supported other lecturers in my organization and elsewhere in using e-solutions.

She can be found in the following places:
– facilitating webinars in the Edublogs Elluminate room http://bit.ly/17lTIE (usually Thursday GMT 23:00)
– Twitter http://twitter.com/JoHart (constantly)
– Her blog http://johart1.edublogs.org (when she has time!).

Keynote: Who Needs Bricks and Mortar?

Description: What are the associated challenges and implications of working with literacy students online? How and why will the broader education system be e-transformed in the near future? How will we need to address these and other challenges and implications?

Date & Times: Sun. Aug. 1st 4am-5am LA/ 7am NYC/12noon London/ 1pm, Paris/ 9pm, Sydney/ 8pm, Tokyo
Click here for more time zones!

If you missed the presentation, click here to see the archive: View the Elluminate Live! recording

Presenter’s Website: E-verything

Twitter: @JoHart

Advertisements

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Thank You!

Disclaimer: The Reform Symposium Conference could not take place without its sponsors, presenters, and organizers. The views and opinions expressed are purely those of the presenters/sponsors/organizers. The Reform Symposium does not endorse any product or view.

%d bloggers like this: